Mare Forms

Mare Registration is quick and easy

There are two options to register your Mare:

1. Fast Track:  (Online Submission)

New Mare Registration - ONLINE SUBMISSION 
(Use this link if you want to complete the form and pay fees online.)

2. Paper Route: (Print, Mail / Fax Submission)

Download the New Mare Registration Form as a PDF.
(Use this version if you want to complete the form to mail or fax it.) 

Change of Domicile

A change of domicile form is due within 14 days of change of domicile. If an inspector is sent to inspect a mare and she is not at the last reported domicile, the mare owner may be subject to the re-inspection fee of $100.

Download the Change of Domicile Form as a PDF

 

MARE Leaving State

When plans are made for your registered mare to leave the state for the purpose of breeding, this information has to be filed officially with the LTBA office BEFORE the mare leaves the state .  

Please use the link to the form below to print, fill out, and mail / fax any out of state moves before the mare leaves the State of Louisiana.

Download the Mare Leaving State Form as a PDF

 

MARE Returning to state

A Mare Returning to State Form must be filed when mare returns to the State of Louisiana

Download the Mare Returning to State Form as a PDF

 

Inspection Guidelines and Mare Fees

Guidelines of when a mare may be inspected:

1. New mares; within 30 days of form being filed with the office.

2. Mares going out of state to breed with foals at their side; before leaving and after theAugust 1st deadline of returning.

3. Mares without foals; on their return or after August 1st.

4. Anytime there is a Change of Domicile of the Mare.

5. Mares with early breeding dates may be inspected during the last three weeks ofDecember.

6. Complaints reviewed on a case by case basis.

Forms and Fees:

  1. Mare registration forms are due within 30 days of new ownership, or entrance into Louisiana Thoroughbred Breeders program. The fee for registration is $50. If the registration takes place after 60 days of new ownership, or entry into the Louisiana Thoroughbred Breeders Program, the fee will increase to $250. In the event a mare has not been registered and an application of accreditation is filed, notarized documentation verifying a Louisiana domicile at the time of foaling must be submitted for approval of accreditation, along with the $250 mare registration fee and the appropriate foal accreditation fee.
  2. A change of domicile form is due within 14 days of change of domicile. If an inspector is sent to inspect a mare and she is not at the last reported domicile, the mare owner may be subject to the re-inspection fee of $100.
  3. The report of a mare leaving the state has to be filed with the L.T.B.A office before the mare leaves. Failure to report an out-of-state move will result in a fine of $250. The fine may be waived with the proper proof of a Louisiana foaling and/or domicile record submitted and approved by the Grievance Committee. The mare owner has the burden of proof and all costs associated with it.

The inspections are conducted by an independent contractor. You are required by the Association to present the mare at the time the inspector calls upon you to do so. Failure to present the mare may jeopardize the accreditation of her foal.

Louisiana Downs Office: (318) 746-6170
Evangeline Downs Office: (337) 942-1884
Fair Grounds Office: (504) 947-4676 or (800) 772-1195